Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

Mask of Shadows features a gender fluid main character. Sal’s family and country were destroyed in a war 10 years ago and vengeance will be sweet. Orphaned and alone, Sal became a street thief under the thumb of Grell. Sal just needs enough money to get closer to the upper-class to seek revenge.

While robbing a noblewoman, Sal discovers the perfect opportunity to avenge those who were murdered needlessly, the queen needs a new assassin and tryouts are open to everyone. Sal immediately starts planning how to enter the competition to become her new assassin. The competition is harsh and murdering your competitors is not only okay it is encouraged as long as no one sees you.

Murder, intrigue, love, and betrayal are all a part of the competition. Can a common street thief like Sal make it against ex soldiers, acrobats, and hardened criminals? This is a great start to a duology and I’m eagerly awaiting the release of the second book. A great read for fans of Maas and Bardugo’s fantasy series. I would say this is more appropriate for a high school student than a middle school student. You should definitely add this to your to be read pile when it is released in August!

Comments are closed