LEE-WHEDON MEMORIAL LIBRARY ANNUAL MEETING

May 8, 2023

In attendance:

Board of Trustees: K. Boice, C. Kiebala, I. Mark, S. O'Dea, D. Schwert

Staff: K. Mostyn, S. Covis

Guests: C. Cooper, N. Fredericks, J. Kiebala

Board President C. Kiebala called the meeting to order at 7:08 p.m. and appointed K. Mostyn as Clerk. As Clerk, K. Mostyn read the notice of the meeting.

The Director's Report was read by K. Mostyn. Our annual circulation statistics have continued to increase toward pre-pandemic levels. The library again received multiple grants to augment increased costs and create new collections. Our meeting room is consistently being used by other community organizations. Overall, the library continues to remain a vibrant and essential service in Medina.

The minutes of the 2022 Annual Meeting were read and approved on a motion made by K. Boice, seconded by C. Cooper, and approved by all.

C. Kiebala read the Annual Report on behalf of the Board of Trustees. 2021-2022 was a great year at Lee-Whedon. Our visits and offerings have steadily increased following the pandemic. The Medina community borrowed 50,100 items this past year and visited the library 58,942 times. We offered 237 programs which were attended by 4,790 people. Our 8 computers were used 3,447 times, and our Wi-Fi was used 5,394 times. We also had 3,292 reference transactions. Lee-Whedon online had 6,795 items downloaded, and our databases were used 58,277 times. The library's social media accounts are followed by 3,509 people.

We received multiple grants throughout the year. WNYLRC awarded us the Action and Innovation Grant to complete the digitization of our microfilmed newspapers. We were also awarded the Immersive Experiences Action Grant to create 360-degree tours. Go-Art awarded us a grant for our ever popular Finally Fridays! We received an ECF grant to purchase tablets and laptops. The Heritage Wind Community Grant was used to create our Discovery Kits.

As we continue to change and evolve, our staff remains the heart of our library. They are committed to providing each person that enters the library a warm and welcoming environment. They pursue continuing education opportunities to learn new ways of supporting this community. The Board and I would like to express our gratitude for all that they do.

- **I. Mark** was nominated to fill a five-year term on the Board of Trustees by D. Schwert, seconded by S. O'Dea and approved by all. As no other candidate was nominated, K. Boice made a motion to close the nominations and for the clerk to cast one ballot, seconded by D. Schwert and approved by all. All in attendance voted aye for I. Mark to be elected for a 5 year term. Those present congratulated her on her election.
- C. Kiebala presented the 2023-2024 budget. The Lee-Whedon Memorial Library Trustees have remained conservative in our efforts to maintain services while keeping costs down. However, as many in the community will recognize, the cost of everything has soared this year. The proposed 2023-2024 budget stays under the allowable tax cap and will increase the tax levy by \$15,885 or 2.8%. The total levy will increase to \$580,913. Salaries, insurance, programming, and utilities will all increase.

Voting on the Lee-Whedon Memorial Library Proposed Budget for Fiscal Year 2023-2024 will take place at the Library on Tuesday, May 9, 2023 from 12:00 Noon to 8:00 p.m. and as much longer as may be necessary for the voters then present to cast their ballot.

The following, being qualified voters of the District, have been appointed by the Board of Trustees to act as Assistant Clerks at the election on Tuesday, May 9, 2023: Sharon Kleinhans, Gary Caldwell, Mary Ann Underdown, Neveen Boulos, and Norma Jones.

The following, being qualified as voters of the District, have been appointed by the Board of Trustees to act as Inspectors of Election on Tuesday, May 9, 2023: Jan McCloy, John Underdown, Ruth Cleveland, and Gary Jones. Kristine Mostyn as Chief Inspector of Election.

C. Kiebala called for a motion to recess until 12 Noon, May 9, 2023. A motion was made by K. Boice and was seconded by C. Cooper and approved by all at 7:21 pm.

Respectfully submitted S. Covis 5/9/2023